Red Hat Certified Engineer — RHCE


An RHCE® certification is earned by a Red Hat® Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) who has demonstrated the knowledge, skill, and ability required of a senior system administrator responsible for Red Hat Enterprise Linux® systems. Professionals holding this certification have continually helped their companies with successful deployments and migrations.

An RHCE is able to perform the following tasks (in addition to tasks associated with RHCSA):

  • Configuration of static routes, packet filtering, and network address translation
  • Setting kernel runtime parameters
  • Building simple RPMs
  • Configuring an iSCSI initiator
  • Producing and delivering reports on system utilization
  • Using shell scripting to automate system maintenance tasks
  • Configuring system logging, including remote logging
  • Configuring a system to provide networking services, including HTTP/HTTPS, FTP, NFS, SMB, SMTP, SSH, and NTP

Certification program requirements

  • RHCE candidates must have earned their RHCSA certification to be eligible to become an RHCE.
  • An RHCE exam consists of 1 section lasting up to 2 hours.
  • The certification exam is performance-based, meaning that candidates must perform tasks on a live system, rather than answering questions about how one might perform those tasks.
  • The hands-on nature of this exam makes real-world experience a critical facet of preparation.
  • RHCEs, who are certified on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6, will have a current status for 3 calendar years after it is earned. This current window can be extended by earning additional Red Hat credentials.

The RHCE certification is designed for

  • Experienced Linux IT professionals who currently have RHCSA certification and are interested in earning RHCE certification
  • Experienced Red Hat Enterprise Linux system administrators seeking validation of their skills.
  • Students who have attended Red Hat System Administration I, II, and III or the RHCE Rapid Track Course.
  • Experienced Linux system administrators who require certification either by their organization or based on a mandate (DOD 8570 directive).
  • An RHCE who is non-current and has passed the RHCSA exam.